Library training

This training introduces the tools and metrics used to assess scientific publishing. Participants will learn how to retrieve citation counts and h-indexes from various databases and gain an overview of Impact Factor figures, the Finnish Publication Forum classification, and predatory journals.

Target Audience: Students, doctoral researchers, researchers, teachers, and staff
Duration: 60 minutes
Customisation: The training can be adapted to suit the needs of a specific discipline or group

Key Topics:

• Retrieving citation counts and h-indexes from Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar
• Understanding and interpreting Impact Factor figures
• Using the Publication Forum classification to evaluate publication channels
• Identifying predatory journals and avoiding associated risks
• The role of evaluation tools in assessing research impact and quality

This training explores the practices of predatory journals and publishers that undermine the reliability of scholarly publishing. Participants will learn how to identify predatory journals, understand their operating methods, and avoid publication channels that do not meet academic quality standards. The session also examines the phenomenon of hijacked journals—fake websites impersonating reputable scientific journals.

Target Audience: Students, doctoral researchers, researchers, teachers, and staff
Duration: 60 minutes
Customisation: The webinar content can be tailored to the participants’ discipline or specific needs

Key Topics:

• What predatory journals are and how they operate
• The phenomenon of hijacked journals and how to recognise them
• Exploitation of article processing charges and flaws in the publication process
• Practical tips for avoiding unreliable publication channels
• Identifying trustworthy journals (e.g. DOAJ, Publication Forum)
• Library support services for evaluating publication channels

This training explores the potential of Scopus and Web of Science not only for information retrieval but also for research evaluation and analysis. Participants will learn how to use researcher profiles, publication metrics, and built-in analysis tools to assess the visibility and impact of their research.

Target Audience: Students, doctoral researchers, researchers, teachers, and staff
Duration: 60 minutes
Customisation: The training can be tailored to the needs of a specific discipline or group

Key Topics:

• Researcher profiles in Scopus and Web of Science
• Citation counts and h-indexes from different databases
• Understanding and interpreting publication metrics
• Analysis tools in the databases (e.g. collaboration networks, publication trends)
• Practical tips for using the databases effectively

This training provides guidance on how to report your publications to the University of Turku’s research information system (UTUCRIS) so that they are included in the annual publication data collection by the Ministry of Education and Culture (OKM). Participants will learn the practical steps for entering publication data, understand the importance of self-archiving, and discover how to use an ORCID iD within the system.

Target Audience: Doctoral researchers, researchers, teachers, and staff
Duration: 30 minutes
Customisation: The training can be tailored to the needs of a specific unit or group

Key Topics:

• Reporting publications to UTUCRIS: forms and manual entry
• The role of parallel publishing in increasing visibility and citations
• Using an ORCID iD in the research information system
• Library support services for managing publication information