UTUGuides: Physics: Books

Volter

Volter
The library database consists of all printed materials and most of the electronic resources.

Tips to Volter:

Boolean operators have to be written in capital letters (AND/OR/NOT). Default operator is AND.
To truncate use an asterisk, use quotation marks to search for a phrase "social media".

You can target your search at different resources:

Default search (Search all materials) combines the searches listed below.
Books, journals and theses search returns all university library materials: printed and electronic books, printed and electronic journals, newspapers, databases, videos and theses and dissertations. In addition, the search includes University of Turku's open repository UTUPub.
International articles search returns results from hundreds of different databases with university library access. In addition to scientific journal articles the results include newspaper articles, electronic books and primary sources. All results include a fulltext link.
Databases search returns results from all databases to which the library offers access.

For more good tips on how to use Volter - go to Quick Guide to Volter

Reference e-books

Dictionary of Astronomy

Dictionary of Space Exploration

Encyclopædia Britannica

Oxford Companion to Cosmology

Planets, stars and stellar systems

Science, technology, and society : an encyclopedia

Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics

E-books

NB! The books in DawsonEra, eBook Collection, Ebrary, EBL, Elsevier, Oxford Scholarship Online, Palgrave Connect and Springer are included even in Volter library database!

EBSCO eBook Collection
Only e-books purchased by the library are shown. The number of simultaneous users vary: 1, 3 or unlimited. For reading you need to get Adobe Reader: http://get.adobe.com/fi/reader/. You may print max. 30 pages at a time. Downloading to own computer and memory stick is possible, requires the downloading of Adobe Digital Editions and setting up a personal Adobe account: http://www.adobe.com/fi/products/digital-editions/download.html. Downloading to a mobile device is possible, but not for all e-books. Loan period for downloaded items is 1-3 days
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Academic Complete package and title by title bought ebooks. Previously known as Ebrary and EBL.
Elsevier Books
Unlimited multi-user access. It is possible to review summaries and parts of books not purchased by the library. Reading requires no downloading of software. Printing allowed for personal use. Downloading to own computer, memory stick or mobile device is possible.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Unlimited multi-user access. It is possible to review summaries of books not purchased by the library. For reading you need to get Adobe Reader: http://get.adobe.com/fi/reader/. Printing single chapters and downloading to a mobile device is allowed.

MOT Dictionaries

MOT dictionaries include tools for everyday communication: dictionaries, proofreading and translation software.

MOT dictionaries