UTUGuides: Biology: Books

Volter

Volter
The library database consists of all printed materials and most of the electronic resources.

Tips to Volter:

Boolean operators have to be written in capital letters (AND/OR/NOT). Default operator is AND.
To truncate use an asterisk, use quotation marks to search for a phrase "social media".

You can target your search at different resources:

Default search (Search all materials) combines the searches listed below.
Books, journals and theses search returns all university library materials: printed and electronic books, printed and electronic journals, newspapers, databases, videos and theses and dissertations. In addition, the search includes University of Turku's open repository UTUPub.
International articles search returns results from hundreds of different databases with university library access. In addition to scientific journal articles the results include newspaper articles, electronic books and primary sources. All results include a fulltext link.
Databases search returns results from all databases to which the library offers access.

For more good tips on how to use Volter - go to Quick Guide to Volter

Reference E-books

Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics

Climate Vulnerability

Color atlas of genetics

Encyclopedia of animal behavior

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (2nd ed) This link opens in a new window

Encyclopedia of Evolution
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Mammals
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life : Aquatic Invertebrates and Fishes
Encyclopædia Britannica

Ympäristösanakirja EnDic

E-Books

E-Books can also be found in Volter!

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Academic Complete paketti ja yksittäin ostettuja e-kirjoja.
Academic Complete package and title by title bought ebooks.
Entinen Ebrary ja EBL / Previously Ebrary and EBL.
Ellibs
Yksittäin ostettuja kotimaisia e-kirjoja.
Title by title bought Finnish ebooks.
Elsevier Books
Ostettu useita e-kirjakokoelmia. Rajaa haku ostettuihin kokoelmiin valitsemalla "Publication type" = Books ja "Access type" = Subscribed and complimentary.
Several ebook collections bought. Limit your search to the bought collections by selecting "Publication type" = Books and "Access type" = Subscribed and complimentary.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Wiley Interscience Reference Works

MOT Dictionaries

MOT Dictionaries include tools for everyday communication: dictionaries, proofreading and translation software.

MOT dictionaries

Biology and Environmental Sciences Books (Teutori Library)

Call Number in VOLTER	CONTENT	Spine label
Teutori Tiedeoppi	General Science, Philosophy of Science, Methodology, Scientific Writing, Scientific Research, Research Methods, Scientific Thinking, Ethics	TIE
Teutori Biot.hakuteokset	Reference Books, Biosciences	BHAK
Teutori Geot.hakuteokset	Reference Books, Geosciences	GHAK
Teutori Yl.hakuteokset	Reference Books, General	YHAK
Teutori Sanakirjat	Dictionaries	SAN
Teutori Sanakirjat.Lainattavat	Dictionaries, borrowable	SAN LAIN
Teutori Biol.Yleisbiol.	Biology, General	YLE
Teutori Biol.Metod.	Methodology, Research Methods	MET
Teutori Biol.Biol.hist.	History of Biology, Biologists	B.HIS
Teutori Biol.Biofys.	Biophysics	B.FYS
Teutori Biol.Biokem.	Biochemistry	B.KEM
Teutori Biol.Biomatem.	Biomathematics	B.MAT
Teutori Biol.Sytol.	Sytology	SYT
Teutori Biol.Evol.	Evolution	EVO
Teutori Biol.Ekol.	Ecology, General; Parasitology, Pests	EKO
Teutori Biol.Hydrobiol.	Limnology, Potamology, Marine Biology	HYDR
Teutori Gen.	Genetics	GEN
Teutori Ymp.Yleist.	Environmental Conservation, General; Sustainability, Ecophilosophy, Statistics	YLE
Teutori Ymp.Lains.	Environmental Law, Legislation	LAI
Teutori Ymp.Politiikka	Environmental Politics, Environmental Sciences, education, Transport	POL
Teutori Ymp.Tila	Environmental Assessment, Noise Control	TIL
Teutori Ymp.Maap.suoj.	Soil Conservation, Soil Acidification, Eskers, Desertification	MAA
Teutori Ymp.Biodiv.	Biodiversity	BDI
Teutori Ymp.Luonnonvar.	Ecosystems, Natural Resources, Environment	ALU
Teutori Ymp.Energia	Energy, Energy Policy, Energy Use, Energy Resources	ENE
Teutori Ymp.Suoj.alueet	Nature Conservation Areas, Nature Protection	LUE
Teutori Ymp.Metsävaur.	Forest Protection, Forest Damage, Pests, Plant Deseases	MET
Teutori Ymp.Ilmastonmuutos	Climate Change, Air Pollution, Greenhouse Effect, Acidification	ILM
Teutori Ymp.Vesiensuoj.	Water Pollution, Eutrophication, Acidification	VES
Teutori Ymp.Laj.suoj.	Endangered Species, Protection of Animals, Protection of Plants	LAJ
Teutori Ymp.Kemikal.	Toxicology, Waste, Chemicals, Catastrophies	KEM
Teutori Zool.Yleisel.	Zoology, General	YLE
Teutori Zool.Fysiol.	Zoology, Physiology	FYS
Teutori Zool.Morf.&an.	Zoology, Morphology; Zoology, Anatomy	MOR
Teutori Zool.Ont.&embr.	Zoology, Ontogeny; Zoology, Embryology	ONT
Teutori Zool.Ekol.	Zoology, Ecology	EKO
Teutori Zool.Etol.	Etology	ETO
Teutori Zool.Paleozool.	Paleozoology	PALE
Teutori Zool.Evert.Yl.	Evertebrates, Pests, Parasites	EVE.Y
Teutori Zool.Insecta	Insects, Butterflies	INS
Teutori Zool.Pisces	Fish, Fishing, Fisheries, Crayfish	PIS
Teutori Zool.Rept.&Amph.	Reptiles, Amphibians	REP
Teutori Zool.Aves	Birds	AVE
Teutori Zool.Mammalia	Mammals	MAM
Teutori Zool.Käyt.opp.	Practical Guides, Game Husbandry	KÄY
Teutori Bot.Yleiskasv.	Botany, General	YLE
Teutori Bot.Metod.	Botany, Metodology; Biotechnology; Botany, Laboratory Techniques	ET
Teutori Bot.Anat.&morf.	Botany, Anatomy; Botany, Morphology	ANA
Teutori Bot.Fysiol.	Botany, Physiology	FYS
Teutori Bot.Ekol.	Botany, Ecology	EKO
Teutori Bot.Syst.Yl.	Systematics, Taxanomy	SYST
Teutori Bot.Kasv.Muut	Plant Identification: Other Countries	MUUT
Teutori Bot.Levät	Algae	LEV
Teutori Bot.Sienet	Fungi	SIE
Teutori Bot.Sammalet	Moss, Ferns, Lichen	SAM
Teutori Bot.Fanerog.	Flowering Plants, Seed Plants	FANE
Teutori Bot.Metsänhoito	Forests, Forestry, Peatland	METS
Teutori Bot.Vilj.kasv.	Agriculture, Farming, Gardening	VILJ
Teutori Bot.Kasvitaudit	Plant Diseases	TAU
Teutori Bot.Farm.bot.	Medical Plants	FARM