The AI tools available through the Library are available to you with your UTU ID. There is no need to create a separate user account for the services.
All tools can be used in languages other than English. Please note, however, that in most cases the language you use will also affect the results. Most of the material that the tools use is in English, which means that the articles found are most likely to be in English, even if you have spoken to the tool in another language.
AI Tools Integrated into Databases
Volter’s AI assistant
- AI Assistant integrated into the Volter database, you can find the AI Assistant in the top menu of Volter
- Only available when you are logged in to Volter (with both UTU credentials and library card)
- Can be used, for example, at the beginning of a search to familiarise yourself with a topic
- uses data from the Volter’s international articles search group with certain publisher-specific limitations, see the Quick guide to Volter for a more detailed description of the resources
- Can be used in natural language
- Presents the results as a summary
- More information about the tool and how to use it can be found in the AI assistant
Scopus AI
- AI assistant integrated with the Scopus database, you can find it in the database under its own tab
- Can be used, for example, at the beginning of a search to familiarise yourself with a topic
- Uses database data from 2003 onwards
- Can be used in natural language
- Presents the results as a summary, but also produces a concept map, a list of the most relevant researchers and a list of emerging research themes
- More information about the tool and how to use it can be found in the Elsevier Scopus Guide
Web of Science Research Assistant
- AI assistant integrated with the Web of Science database, you can find it in the database under its own tab
- Can be used, for example, at the beginning of a search to familiarise yourself with a topic
- Uses the Web of Science Core Collection data
- Can be used in natural language
- Presents the results as a summary, but also produces a concept map, a list of the most relevant researchers and visualisations of e.g. references
- More information about the tool and how to use it can be found in the Clarivate Authors / Researchers Guide
Jstor Research Tool
- To use the tool user needs to create an Jstor account and logg in
- Option to switch the tool on or off
- Can be used in natural language
- Highlights key points and arguments in a selected document
- Suggests related topics and questions based on a selected document
ProQuest Research Assistant
- Suggests additional search terms based on your search
- Shows Key takeaways of a selected document
- Suggests related articles and topics based on a selected document
- Lists related keywords and allows new searches based on them
Standalone AI Tools
Keenious
- AI-based article search tool
- Select Sign up with Microsoft on the Keenious login page and log in with your UTU credentials
- Uses OpenAlex as its data; OpenAlex contains a large amount of data from open access and non-open access journal articles
- Can be used in natural language
- Analyses the input text, e.g. a question, a Word file containing your own text, or an article PDF file, and searches for articles based on it
- Generates a list of articles related to the topic, also provides a list of topics related to the subject area
- The tool can be used in a web browser and in a word processor (MS Word, Google Docs) via an add-on
- More information about the tool can be found on the Keenious page of this guide
Scite
- Smart Citations function analyzes context of citations of a chosen research paper
- Citations are categorized into "supportive", "mentioning" and "contrasting" based on their context
- Assistant lets you ask questions using natural language and provides summaries
- Assistant can be used in different languages
- More information about the tool can be found on the Scite page of this guide
