Biology

The American Society of Naturalists is the oldest scientific society dedicated to the study of ecology, evolution and behavior.
The goal of the society is to advance and to diffuse knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles so as to enhance the conceptual unification of the biological sciences.

Natural History Museum

The vision of the British Ecological Society is to advance ecology and make it count.

The website Climateguide.fi pools practical, studied and reliable information on climate change into one address and a uniform format.

The purpose of the website is to support society and citizens in mitigating climate change, and in adapting to it. The website helps in understanding phenomena related to climate change, and in structuring information. The aim is to allow anyone needing information on climate change to find it rapidly and easily.

Global information system with all you ever wanted to know about fish.

Mycological information site

Funded by the DoH and DTI to support a network of parties interested in human genetics. The site contains
a list of links to further sites from the UK government, Department of Health and NHS, genetics research, professional bodies and societies, in addition to information for the lay person, educators and patients.

The world's largest and most widely used resource on Charles Darwin.

Performs simultaneous searching of more than 20 l sequencing, full-text, and abstracts databases. Including PubMed Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO), Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms (SNPs), Population Sets, Genomes, Sequence Tagged Sites, UniGene, Gene-centered information (Gene), and the NCBI Web site itself.

The European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) is a centre for research and services in bioinformatics, and is part of European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL). Its website provides analysis tools and several databases of biological data, including nucleic acid, protein sequences, and macromolecular structures. It also provides information on current research.

Scientists around the world, including taxonomic experts working on everything from insects to viruses and dinosaurs to plants, work every day to add to our knowledge of biodiversity through scholarly research in peer-reviewed publications. MorphoBank, supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation, provides a digital archive of those data so that the observations can be shared in both words and pictures with future scientists and the public.
In particular, MorphoBank assists scientists building the Tree of Life - the genealogy of all living and extinct species. In this endeavor scientists must collect data on all heritable features - both genotypes (e.g., DNA sequences) and phenotypes (e.g., anatomy, behavior, physiology). The genomic part of this work is archived at the National Center for Biotechnology Information. MorphoBank is part of the new and growing cyberinfrastructure for phenotypes to house, save and share information on anatomy, physiology, behavior and other features of species.

An Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures from the Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RSCB). "The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies ... [and can be used to do] ... simple and advanced searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function" Summaries include parameters, unit cell, classification, classification, images and visulaization KiNG, Jmol, WebMol, Rasmol, etc.), and more. Each structure summary includes PubMed's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) !!

The goal of the Common Fund’s Structural Biology program was to develop novel methods to isolate large amounts of membrane proteins and determine their protein structures. Maintained as an archive, will not be updated on a regular basis.