You can bring references to Zotero in the following ways:
If you have the source text at your fingertips or have found the reference in a catalogue, you can try several different ways to add information to Zotero:
Click on the “Add Item by Identifier” button (
) and enter an identifier in the window that opens, such as the ISBN of the printed book or the DOI of the article. Zotero searches for reference data in several different registers.
The Connector button installed in the browser can be used to import reference data from databases and web pages into Zotero (see Connector installation). Zotero must be open when the button is used.
When you want to import references from databases in larger quantities at a time, you should look for Export or Save on the database results page. If your database offers several different storage formats, RIS and Bibtex work best with Zotero.
The following tabs provide guidance on how large quantities of references can be imported from each database.
For larger amounts of Ebsco database references, it is recommended to import as a RIS file.
Ebsco databases include Business Source Complete, Cinahl, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Eric, Historical Abstracts, Philosopher's Index, etc.
Transferring the entire results list as a RIS file
1. Go to the link above the results set and click Share
2. Select the Export Results link at the bottom.
3. Select the file format in which you want to download the references. When exporting to Zotero, the RIS format works most reliably.
4. Enter the email address to which the download link will be sent.
5. Click on the link in the email and a compressed folder will appear in your Downloaded folder / the folder of your choice.
6. Unzip the compressed folder.
7. Go to Zotero and select Import from the File menu. Confirm that you want to transfer the RIS file.
8. Click on the Next button to go to retrieve the file you saved.
After selecting the file, you can choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without foldering.
10. The references will be moved to Zotero.
Note! These instructions work with Firefox, the file may behave differently in other browsers.
.
Transfer of multiple references as a RIS file
1. Select the references to be transferred, e.g. by adding references to a temporary folder from the blue folder image on the right-hand side of the reference.
2. From the top right of the page, go to the Folder folder.
3. Select all references from Select all.
4. Press Export.
5. Check that "Direct Export in RIS Format" is selected and click Save on the left side of the page.
6. Go to Zotero and from there open Import from the File menu. Confirm that you are transferring the RIS file.
7. Click on the Next button to go to the file you uploaded.
8. After selecting the file, choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without any foldering.
.
9. The references will be moved to Zotero.
From Elsevier's Scopus and ScienceDirect databases, you can import references as RIS or Bibtex files.
1. Search and select the references you want.
2. Select "Zotero (RIS)" from the Export menu and tick the data you want to transfer. Press Export.
3. Go to Zotero and from there open the File menu Import. Confirm that you are transferring the RIS file.
4. Click the Next button to go to the file you downloaded.
5. After selecting the file, choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without foldering.
.
6. The references will be moved to Zotero.
ProQuest databases include ABI/INFORM, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), MLA International Bibliography, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, The Vogue Archive.
Transfer of references as RIS file
1. Search and select the references you want.
2. Click on the three dots at the top and select RIS (Works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.) from the menu that appears.
3. Check that the menu that pops up says RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi etc.) and press Continue.
4. Go to Zotero and from there open Import from the File menu. Confirm that you are transferring the RIS file.
5. Click on the Next button to go to the file you uploaded.
6. After selecting the file, choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without any foldering.
.
7. The references will be moved to Zotero.
Note! The tutorial works mostly with Chrome or Firefox, other browsers may require you to open the temporary storage folder in the top bar and export the references through it. It depends on your browser settings how the reference transfer works.
Transfer of references as a PubMed file
1. Select the references you want from the results list by clicking on them.
2. Select Save above the results list.
3. Select Selection: from the Selection drop-down menu.
4. Select PubMed from the Format menu.
5. Save the file that opens. Go to Zotero and from there open the File menu Import. Confirm that you are transferring the RIS file.
6. Click on the Next button to go to the file you saved.
7. After selecting the file, choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without foldering.
.
8. The references will be moved to Zotero.
Huom! Ohje toimii Firefox-selaimella, muissa selaimissa latautuva tiedosto voi käyttäytyä eri tavalla.
Import references as a RIS file
1. Search the database and select references by clicking on the reference's sequence number.
2. Click on the three dots above the results list and select Export as RIS from the menu that opens.
3. Select UTF-8 as the character set and click Download.
4. Go to Zotero and from there open Import from the File menu. Confirm that you are transferring the RIS file.
5. Click the Next button to go to the file you downloaded.
6. After selecting the file, choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without foldering.
.
7. The references will be moved to Zotero.
To import references from the Web of Science database, use Web importer. You can also transfer a single reference from the abstract page of an article. You can also import references as a BibTex transfer.
Exporting references as BibTeX or RIS files from Web of Science
1. Do a search (Topic search) and select the references you want.
2. Select Export above the results and from the menu that appears, select BibTeX or RIS (other reference software).
3. In the opening window, select the number of references using the Records from option (1000 references can be imported at once) and select Record content: full record and click Export.
4. Go to Zotero and from there open Import from the File menu. Confirm that you are transferring the RIS file.
5. Click the Next button to go to the file you uploaded.
6. After selecting the file, choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without foldering.
.
7. The references will be moved to Zotero.
1. Do a Medic search and select the references you want. Press Show Selected.
2. In the window that opens, select Print/Save as: RIS (Reference Management Software) and press OK.
3. Select and copy all the information on the page: press Ctrl+A and then Ctrl+C on the keyboard.
4.Go to Zotero and select Import from Clipboard from the File menu.
5. The references you have just copied will be transferred directly to Zotero.
OR
1. Do a Medic search and select the references you want. Press Show Selected.
In the window that opens, select Print/Save Format: RIS (Reference Management Software) and press OK.
In the textual page that now opens, press the right mouse button and select "Save as...". Save the file to your Desktop or Downloads folder.
4. Go to Zotero and from there open Import from the File menu. Confirm that you want to transfer the file.
5. Click the Next button to go to the file you saved.
6. After selecting the file, you can choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without any foldering.
.
8. The references will be moved to Zotero.
Note! The tutorial works with Firefox, the file may behave differently in other browsers.
Transfer of references as a RIS file
1. Click on the search results you want to transfer to Zotero.
2. Select Export selected citation(s).
In the window that opens, select the RIS (Reference Manager) icon.
In the window that opens, select whether you also want to transfer the abstract and click Download.
5. Go to Zotero and open the Import from the File menu. Confirm that you want to transfer the RIS file.
6. Click the Next button to go to the file you downloaded.
7. After selecting the file, you can choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without any foldering.
.
8. The references will be moved to Zotero.
1. Click on Reference/Cite under the reference information. NOTE: this will only bring the selected reference to Zotero.
2. In the window that appears, select RefMan.
3 Save the file that opens. Go to Zotero and from there open Import from the File menu. Confirm that you are transferring the RIS file.
4. Click the Next button to go to the file you saved.
5. After selecting the file, choose whether you want to create a new collection from the imported reference or add it to the library without any foldering.
.
6. The reference will be moved to Zotero.
You can transfer references from Finna to Zotero one at a time, always from the data of the search result opened: click on Export reference above the reference title and Export: RIS. You can export multiple references by first logging in to Finna with your HAKA (= utu) credentials and saving the references in your Finna Favourites folder, where you can transfer them by clicking on Export above the Favourites list and selecting RIS as the file format.
Work with the RIS file as follows:
1. go to Zotero and open the Import menu in the File menu. From the Zotero menu, select Zotero and select the menu item Import from Zotero, confirm that you want to import the RIS file.
2. Click on the Next button to go to the file you uploaded.
3. After selecting the file, choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without foldering.
.
4. The references will be moved to Zotero.
1. Select Export from the top corner of Rayyan.
2. In the window that opens, select Refman as the file format (equivalent to a RIS file). Check that the number of files corresponds to the number of files you want to import into Zotero (Figure 3).
3. Rayyan will send the file as a compressed folder to the email address you used when you registered with Rayyan.
4. Download the compressed folder file from the email to your computer and unzip it.
5. Go to Zotero and select Import from the File menu. Confirm that you are transferring the RIS file.
6. Click the Next button to go to the file you saved. It will probably be found in the folder you unzipped under the name articles.
7. After selecting the file, you can choose whether you want to create a new collection of the imported references or add them to the library without any foldering.
8. The references will be moved to Zotero.
